Deutsch / English
Reset
v
v
v

White Death



2014 DOK Leipzig, Doc International Short Competition, Animadoc Award
Chile | 2014 | 17 min. | Spanish | English subtitles | German Premiere
Back to film list
Back
White Death | Muerte blanca


CATALOGUE TEXT
The vivisection of a landscape: sombre black and white images unfurl panoramas of a scraggy mountain region. Narrow paths winding through the Andes, crosses decorating the wayside. The ruins of a barracks appear, once housing recruits who departed on a last exercise and were caught in a snow storm. Fragments of real live shots collide with extremely reduced animations. The film’s emulsion begins to pulse and dissolve. Sudden lightning destroys every trace of narrative. This is not the reconstruction of an event that happened in 2005, but the evocation of a nightmare of coldness and death that was irrevocably inscribed into the landscape.
Director Roberto Collío deftly and brilliantly experiments with different materials to evoke graphical analogies. He started out as a sound designer; so on the subtly wrought soundtrack the lonely death of a young soldier finds its long, sad echo in the diminishing sounds of a whistle.
Cornelia Klauß
Credits
Original Title: Muerte blanca
Country: Chile
Year: 2014
Language: Spanish
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 17 min.
Format: DCP
Color: B&W
Director: Roberto Collío
Producer: Isabel Orellana Guarello
Cinematographer: Matías Illanes
Editor: Roberto Collío
Animation: Jota Sandoval, Roberto González
Sound: Roberto Collío
Music: Roberto Collío
Script: Roberto Collío
Website:
Contacts
Isabel Orellana Guarello
Araucaria Cine
email: isaorellanag@araucariacine.com

Share this Film

The texts to the Documentary Competition films and the International Programme films were written by the members of the selection committee. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

Deutsch / English
Reset
v
v
v

White Death


2014 DOK Leipzig, Dok Internationaler Wettbewerb Kurz, Animadok Award
Chile | 2014 | 17 Minuten | spanisch | englische Untertitel | Deutsche Premiere
Back to film list
Zurück
White Death | Muerte blanca


KATALOGTEXT
Vivisektion einer Landschaft: In düsteren Schwarz-Weiß-Bildern werden Panoramen einer kargen Bergregion aufgeblättert. Schmale Pfade winden sich durch das Andengebirge. Kreuze zieren den Weg. Die Überreste einer Kaserne kommen zum Vorschein. Einst waren hier Rekruten untergebracht, die zu einer letzten Übung aufbrachen und in einen Schneesturm gerieten. Bruchstückhaft kollidieren Realaufnahmen mit Animationen, die aufs Äußerste reduziert sind. Die Emulsionsschicht des Filmmaterials beginnt zu pulsieren, sich aufzulösen. Abrupte Lichtblitze zerstören jeglichen Ansatz von Narration. Hier soll kein Ereignis aus dem Jahre 2005 rekonstruiert, sondern ein Albtraum aus Kälte und Tod nachvollzogen werden, der sich unwiderruflich in die Landschaft eingeschrieben hat.
Regisseur Roberto Collío weiß nicht nur, virtuos mit den verschiedenen Materialien zu experimentieren und grafische Analogien zu evozieren. Seine Laufbahn begann als Sounddesigner, und so findet auf der subtil gearbeiteten Tonspur das einsame Sterben der jungen Soldaten in den immer leiser werdenden Tönen einer Trillerpfeife seinen langen traurigen Nachhall.
Cornelia Klauß
Credits
Originaltitel: Muerte blanca
Land: Chile
Jahr: 2014
Sprache: spanisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 17 Minuten
Format: DCP
Farbe: B&W
Regie: Roberto Collío
Produktion: Isabel Orellana Guarello
Kamera: Matías Illanes
Schnitt: Roberto Collío
Animation: Jota Sandoval, Roberto González
Ton: Roberto Collío
Musik: Roberto Collío
Buch: Roberto Collío
Website:
KONTAKT
Isabel Orellana Guarello
Araucaria Cine
email: isaorellanag@araucariacine.com

SHARE THIS FILM

Annotationsverweis
Die Texte zu den Filmen in den Wettbewerbsprogrammen Dokumentarfilm und im Internationalen Programm wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.