Deutsch / English
Reset
v
v
v

Toto and His Sisters



2014 DOK Leipzig, Doc International Competition
Romania | 2014 | 93 min. | Romanian | English subtitles | German Premiere
Back to film list
Back
Toto and His Sisters | Toto şi surorile lui

CATALOGUE TEXT
The faces of the three siblings living in a run-down flat in Bucharest’s Roma ghetto are serious. Their mother is in prison for drug dealing. Their father has vanished. The uncle who is supposed to take care of the children has turned the flat into a meeting point for the neighbourhood junkies, getting his niece hooked in the process. If you expect a Roma, poverty, horror portrait now, hold your horses. Alexander Nanau, Emmy winner in 2010, is interested in a much deeper question: how do you escape from a life predetermined by social marginalisation?
Toto, at 10 the youngest child of this torn family, finds refuge in a youth centre, spending more and more time in this place where a whole new world is opening up for him. A world that welcomes and supports him and shows him a way out of this nightmare through education. For a brief moment things seem to take a turn for the better for the kids. But then their living conditions strike back.
Nanau has found a quiet, bright hero in Toto and an increasingly confident young woman who demands responsibility in his sister Andrea. Both embody a chance to cheat their predetermined fate. This makes “Toto and His Sisters”, however bleak it may be at times, a surprisingly hopeful film.
Matthias Heeder
Credits
Original Title: Toto şi surorile lui
Country: Romania
Year: 2014
Language: Romanian
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 93 min.
Format: DCP
Color: Colour
Director: Alexander Nanau
Producer: Bianca Oana, Valeriu Nicolae, Catalin Mitulescu, Marcian Lazar, Hanka Kastelicova, Carmen Harabagiu, Antony Root
Cinematographer: Alexander Nanau
Editor: Alexander Nanau, George Cragg, Mircea Olteanu
Sound: Matthias Lempert, Florian Ardelean
Script: Alexander Nanau
Website:
Contacts
Alexander Nanau
email: alex.nanau@gmail.com

Share this Film

The texts to the Documentary Competition films and the International Programme films were written by the members of the selection committee. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

Deutsch / English
Reset
v
v
v

Toto and His Sisters


2014 DOK Leipzig, Dok Internationaler Wettbewerb
Rumänien | 2014 | 93 Minuten | rumänisch | englische Untertitel | Deutsche Premiere
Back to film list
Zurück
Toto and His Sisters | Toto şi surorile lui

KATALOGTEXT
Ernst sehen sie aus, die Gesichter der drei Geschwister, die in einem abgeschrammten Apartment im Roma-Getto von Bukarest leben. Die Mutter sitzt wegen Drogenhandels im Knast. Der Vater ist verschwunden. Der Onkel, der sich um die Kinder kümmern soll, verwandelt die Wohnung in einen Treffpunkt für die Junkies der Nachbarschaft und fixt ganz nebenbei seine Nichte an. Wer jetzt ein Roma-, Armuts-, Schrecklich-Porträt erwartet – gemach. Alexander Nanau, Emmy-Gewinner 2010, geht einer viel tiefer liegenden Frage nach: Wie durchbreche ich einen durch gesellschaftliche Marginalisierung vorgezeichneten Lebensweg?
Toto, der 10-jährige Benjamin dieser zerrissenen Familie, findet in einem Jugendhaus Zuflucht. Immer mehr Zeit verbringt er hier, wo sich ihm eine völlig neue Welt öffnet. Eine, die ihn willkommen heißt, fördert und durch Ausbildung einen Weg aus dem Albtraum weist. Für einen kurzen Moment scheint sich für die Kinder alles zum Besseren zu wenden. Doch dann schlagen die Verhältnisse zurück.
Nanau hat mit Toto einen stillen, aufgeweckten Helden gefunden und mit dessen 14-jähriger Schwester Andrea eine zunehmend selbstbewusste junge Frau, die Verantwortlichkeit fordert. Beide verkörpern eine Möglichkeit, dem vorgezeichneten Schicksal ein Schnippchen zu schlagen. Das macht aus „Toto şi surorile lui“, so düster er manchmal auch sein mag, einen überraschend hoffnungsvollen Film.
Matthias Heeder
Credits
Originaltitel: Toto şi surorile lui
Land: Rumänien
Jahr: 2014
Sprache: rumänisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 93 Minuten
Format: DCP
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Alexander Nanau
Produktion: Bianca Oana, Valeriu Nicolae, Catalin Mitulescu, Marcian Lazar, Hanka Kastelicova, Carmen Harabagiu, Antony Root
Kamera: Alexander Nanau
Schnitt: Alexander Nanau, George Cragg, Mircea Olteanu
Ton: Matthias Lempert, Florian Ardelean
Buch: Alexander Nanau
Website:
KONTAKT
Alexander Nanau
email: alex.nanau@gmail.com

SHARE THIS FILM

Annotationsverweis
Die Texte zu den Filmen in den Wettbewerbsprogrammen Dokumentarfilm und im Internationalen Programm wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.