Deutsch / English
Reset
v
v
v

El Gort



2014 DOK Leipzig, Doc Young Cinema Competition, Healthy Workplaces Film Award
Tunisia, United Arab Emirates | 2013 | 87 min. | Arabic | English subtitles | German Premiere
Back to film list
Back
El Gort | El Gort


CATALOGUE TEXT
This film vibrates with rage. Nothing was good, is good, will be good. This bitter truth surrounds the lives of Washwasha and Khairi like a wall. Both in their early 20s, dirt poor, no expectations of ever doing anything other than stacking, loading and unloading bales of hay for little money. Jobs? There are none in Tunisia. So they want to leave, go to Europe. But that, too, is only a dream.
“El Gort” traces the years from before the rebellion against Ben Ali to the first free elections, 2007 to 2012. But these events have no real meaning for the two of them. Washwasha was in prison during the revolution, Khairi went pillaging like most of the other residents of the city. Somehow the anger had to be vented. Nothing has changed except for the personnel, who cheat the poor exactly like the old regime. And the Islamic parties? F*** them!
The film translates this rage into a rough, immediate visual language that gives the narrative incredible momentum. Hard, rapid cuts, a restless, moving camera, no shot lingers over the beauty of the moment. Instead there’s a maximum of life which must be lived on and on. And that is the really amazing aspect of this first feature-length film by Hamza Ouni: its protagonists lucidly describe their situation without shirking responsibility for their actions.
Matthias Heeder
Credits
Original Title: El Gort
Country: Tunisia, United Arab Emirates
Year: 2013
Language: Arabic
Subtitle: English
Runtime: 87 min.
Format: Beta DIGITAL (PAL)
Color: Colour
Director: Hamza Ouni
Producer: Hamza Ouni
Cinematographer: Mohamed Hakim Boujomaa, Hatem Nechi
Editor: Najwa Khechimi
Sound: Hassen Najar
Website:
Contacts
Hamza Ouni
Mhamdia Productions
email: hamza_cine@yahoo.fr

Share this Film

The texts to the Documentary Competition films and the International Programme films were written by the members of the selection committee. All quotes from DOK Leipzig catalogue articles must be identified as such and cite the author’s name. All articles where no author’s name is given are production notes.

Deutsch / English
Reset
v
v
v

El Gort


2014 DOK Leipzig, Dok Wettbewerb für junges Kino, Healthy Workplaces Film Award
Tunesien, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate | 2013 | 87 Minuten | arabisch | englische Untertitel | Deutsche Premiere
Back to film list
Zurück
El Gort | El Gort


KATALOGTEXT
Dieser Film vibriert vor Wut. Nichts war gut, ist gut, wird gut sein. Diese bittere Wahrheit umschließt das Leben von Washwasha und Khairi wie eine Mauer. Beide Anfang 20, bettelarm, ohne Aussicht, jemals etwas anderes zu machen, als für wenig Geld Heuballen zu stapeln und auf LKWs auf- und abzuladen. Jobs? Es gibt keine in Tunesien. Also wollen sie weg, nach Europa. Doch auch dies ist nur ein Traum.
„El Gort“ erfasst die Jahre vor dem Aufstand gegen Ben Ali bis zu den ersten freien Wahlen, 2007 bis 2012. Aber diese Ereignisse haben für die beiden keine wirkliche Bedeutung. Washwasha saß während der Revolution im Gefängnis, Khairi ging wie die meisten Bewohner der Stadt brandschatzen. Irgendwie musste der Zorn raus. Geändert hat sich nichts. Außer dem Personal, das die Armen genauso betrügt wie das alte Regime. Und die islamischen Parteien? F*** them!
Die Wut übersetzt der Film in eine raue, direkte Bildsprache, die der Erzählung eine unglaubliche Wucht verleiht. Harte, schnelle Schnitte, eine unruhige, bewegte Kamera, keine Einstellung verweilt in der Schönheit des Augenblicks. Statt dessen ein Höchstmaß an Leben, das immer weiter gelebt werden muss. Und das ist das wirklich Erstaunliche an diesem ersten langen Film von Hamza Ouni – dass seine Protagonisten die Verhältnisse klarsichtig beschreiben, ohne sich aus der Verantwortung für ihre Handlungen zu stehlen.
Matthias Heeder
Credits
Originaltitel: El Gort
Land: Tunesien, Vereinigte Arabische Emirate
Jahr: 2013
Sprache: arabisch
Untertitel: englische
Laufzeit: 87 Minuten
Format: Beta DIGITAL (PAL)
Farbe: Colour
Regie: Hamza Ouni
Produktion: Hamza Ouni
Kamera: Mohamed Hakim Boujomaa, Hatem Nechi
Schnitt: Najwa Khechimi
Ton: Hassen Najar
Website:
KONTAKT
Hamza Ouni
Mhamdia Productions
email: hamza_cine@yahoo.fr

SHARE THIS FILM

Annotationsverweis
Die Texte zu den Filmen in den Wettbewerbsprogrammen Dokumentarfilm und im Internationalen Programm wurden von den Mitgliedern der Auswahlkommission geschrieben. Alle Zitate aus den Katalogtexten zu DOK Leipzig müssen als solche gekennzeichnet werden. Der Name der Autorin bzw. des Autors muss dabei angegeben werden. Alle anderen nicht namentlich gekennzeichneten Beiträge sind Produktionsmitteilungen.